## Editorial

# A New and Exciting Chapter for the Journal of Numerical Cognition

John Towse\*<sup>a</sup>

[a] Department of Psychology, Lancaster University, Lancaster, United Kingdom.



JNC continues to grow and establish itself as a central venue for reporting and discussing contemporary ideas and knowledge in the field of mathematics and numerical cognition. JNC is superbly supported by its progressive publisher, PsychOpen, who continue to innovate and grow their publishing systems and standards whilst they maintain a Platinum publishing model – free to read and free to publish – that matches many commercial outlets. This Editorial marks the start of Volume 5 of the Journal, and there are already many important and interesting articles lined up for release this year.

The Journal continues to invite and consider a broad portfolio of articles for publication. "Traditional" analysis of empirical research can be complemented by pre-registered reports, where a submission is made and, following careful review, an in-principle publication decision is made prior to the collection of data. As you may notice from browsing through the Journal contents, there is an increased availability of supplementary materials for empirical research, especially raw data, and a movement towards an increasingly systematic cataloguing of what supplementary content it is possible to make available. Theoretical contributions continue to be welcomed and book reviews have been commissioned. The Journal has benefited from a number of special issues too, where a focused set of papers crystalize contemporary issues and developments.

JNC reviewed and renewed its Editorial Board team members beginning in 2019. The Journal is rightly proud to have assembled an exceptional group of researchers in the field, who bring a mix of experience and new ideas, current Journal experience and also fresh talent, and a skill set that reflects the broad community of research that seeks to improve our understanding of mathematical behaviour and numerical cognition. We have full confidence that they can help to identify and nurture the very best research ideas and research findings for publication in the Journal.

The Journal would also like to take this opportunity to thank sincerely the previous Editorial Team, who supported the Journal from its inception and launch and who have helped to make the Journal the rapid success that it has become. We wish all those who are stepping down every success in new endeavours.

The Editorial Team from 2019 will comprise:

- John Towse (Editor in Chief) (University of Lancaster, UK)
- Mark Ashcraft (University of Nevada Las Vegas, USA)
- Andrea Bender (University of Bergen, Norway)
- Jamie Campbell (University of Saskatchewan, Canada)
- Krzysztof Cipora (Eberhard Karls University of Tuebingen, Germany)
- Mirjam Ebersbach (Universität Kassel, Germany)
- Tom Faulkenberry (Tarleton State University, USA)
- Camilla Gilmore (University of Loughborough, UK)
- Silke Goebel (University of York, UK)
- Andre Knops (Université Paris Descartes & University Sorbonne Paris Cité, France)
- Jo-Anne LeFevre (Carleton University, Canada)
- Tali Leibovich-Raveh (University if Haifa, Israel)
- Oliver Lindemann (Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands)
- Daniela Lucangeli (University of Padova, Italy)
- Michelle Mazzocco (University of Minnesota, USA))
- Jake McMullen (University of Turku, Finland)
- Milton Rosa (Universidade Federal de Ouro Preto, Brazil)
- Barbara Sarnecka (University of California-Irvine, USA)
- Carlo Semenza (University of Padova, Italy)
- Mojtaba Soltanlou (Eberhard Karls University of Tuebingen, Germany)
- Firat Soylu (University of Alabama, USA)
- Sashank Varma (University of Minnesota, USA)
- Arnaud Viarouge (Université Paris Descartes, France)
- Xiao Zhang (University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)

As noted in the previous Editorial, the success of the Journal would simply not be possible without the many volunteers who have undertaken reviews of submissions. Thoughtful, incisive and constructive reviews represent an essential component of the health and vitality of the Journal. It is through such reviews that authors come to see important perspectives and recognise the core challenges in communicating their work. Therefore,



the Journal would like to gratefully acknowledge the contribution of the following reviewers in supporting its efforts since 2016:

Dor Abrahamson Daniel Ansari Sarit Ashkenazi Jennifer Asmuth Arnaud Badets Drew Bailev Brian Ball Brian Barber Christina Barbieri David Barner Sophie Batchelor Jacob Beck **Daniel Berch** Ilaria Berteletti Nancy Betz Silke Bieck Marie-Josee Bisson Par Bjalkebring Julie Booth Caitlin Brez Jennifer Brown **Brian Butterworth** Antonio Calcagni **Caroline Castel** Sara Caviola Feivan Chan Yalin Chen Yi-Ling Cheng Heevoung Choo Felicia Chu Krzysztof Cipora Paul Cirino Jack Clearman Dale Cohen Alf Coles **Richard Cowan** Alexander Cruise Ryan Curl Bert De Smedt Nicholas Dewind Shellev Dole Dror Dotan Jakub Dotlacil Mirjam Ebersbach Amy Ellis Caleb Everett Marco Fabbri **Thomas Faulkenberry** Wim Fias Ruth Filik

Journal of Numerical Cognition 2019, Vol. 5(1), 1–4 https://doi.org/10.5964/jnc.v5i1.214 Emily Fyfe Florence Gabriel Giovanni Galfano Thomas Gallagher-Mitchell Dana Ganor-Stern Carrie Georges Trina Geve David Gomez Roland Grabner Alessandro Guida Elizabeth Gunderson Robert Gunnarsson Alvse Hachev Harry Haladjian Minna Hannula-Sormunen Frances Harper Sara Hart Marian Hickendorff Thomas Hinault Gavin Hitchcock Danielle Hoffmann **Kevin Holmes** Paula Hubber Yi-Hui Hung Thomas Hunt Michelle Hurst Matthew Inglis Ania Ischebeck **David Kirshner** Holly Klee Eric Knuth Karl Kopiske Karl Kosko Attila Krajcsi Helga Krinzinger Karin Landerl David Landy Mathieu Le Corre Keith Leatham Hon Wah Lee Katherine Lewis Melissa Libertus Ian Lyons **Beth MacDonald** Pedro Macizo Erin Maloney Anna Matejko Percival Matthews Nicole McNeil Sandrine Mejias

Kristina Moll Kevin Moore **Bradley Morris Kyle Morrissev** Maria Núñez-Peña Benjamin Nagengast **Mike Nicholls** Marie-Pascale Noel Anderson Norton Rafael Nunez Andreas Obersteiner Sinan Olkun Helena Osana Katarzyna Patro Marcie Penner-Wilger Wim Pouw Gavin Price Geetha Ramani Gerardo Ramirez Sanne Rathe Robert Reeve Regina Reinert Ilyse Resnick Katherine Robinson Henrik Saalbach Barbara Sarnecka Greg Sarnecki **Delphine Sasanguie Bilge Savim** Lennart Schalk **Christoph Scheepers** Amy Scheuermann **Dirk Schlimm** Michael Schneider Francesco Sella Anna Sfard Anna Shusterman Pooja Sidney **Robert Siegler Fiona Simmons** Victoria Simms Martin Simon Sheri-Lynn Skwarchuk **Emily Slusser** Firat Soylu Jeff Starns Leslie Steffe Sebastian Suggate Jess Sullivan **Emily Sumner** 



Catherine Thevenot Jonathan Thomas Ashley Thomas Erik Tillema Loel Tronsky David Trumpower Ron Tzur Amandine van Rinsveld Marina Vasilyeva Arnaud Viarouge Jennifer Wagner Keith Weber Tina Weis Corey White Jesse Wilkins Tin Yau Terry Wong Iro Xenidou-Dervou Chang Xu

### Funding

The author has no funding to report.

#### **Competing Interests**

The author has declared that no competing interests exist.

#### Acknowledgments

The author has no support to report.

4

